Just your typical Monday night…

Ok, so typical for me.

Every Monday I hang out at a local bar about 5 minutes from my house with several of my employees and friends. Sounds quite normal on the surface. Well….not so much.

The earliest I’ve ever arrived is 9:30, but 10:15 is more the “standard”. It’s a 3am bar frequented by many of the local kinksters and poly folk. The music is always good, it’s rare to see someone that no one at the bar knows, and the bartenders know how to take care of their customers. My group of friends and I are there often enough that we have a table with our name on it. Ok, technically it’s a play on the name of my restaurant, but it’s OUR table. On average, our group consists of about 15 people – sometimes more, sometimes less – and we all just sit around bullshitting, talking about kink, and having a good time. Tonight was no different.

I was there with Panzer and The Biker. The Rigger decided to stay home and handcuff himself to his bed for an hour. (He enjoys self-bondage.) Panzer’s girlfriend was there as well, along with a couple of our employees and the boyfriends of one of my employees. (Yes, I’m poly and I hang out with other poly people.) It was a relatively low-key night since several of us had been out drinking last night.

At one point, while The Biker was flirting with another bar regular, I decided to check my phone and see if I’d missed anything important. And that’s when the insanity of my life hit me. I had text messages from Panzer (who’d left already), The Rigger, The Submissive, and The Cop. The Submissive is a woman that I have some interest in, but don’t know that I have time for. The Cop is a man I dated for a few months last year. We’re still friends and talk often. While I was answering those texts, I got a notification of a new Facebook message from another ex – GothBoy.

So, for about 30 minutes tonight, I was chatting with my husband, one of my boyfriends, two of my ex lovers, and a possible new lover…all while having The Biker’s arms wrapped around me. Some people would call this surreal, but for me, it’s become day-to-day life. I’ve almost reached a point of being shocked when I hear that someone only has ONE significant other. Monogamy just seems crazy and so…kinky.

Leave a Reply

